Learning to bake fearlessly <3

DIY sugar heart candies


I’ve always been the sort of strange child who eats sugar plain and loves it. When I was tiny, my grandmother had to keep me out of the sugar dish because I would attack it with a spoon. So, now that I’m an adult, I buy sugar candies all the time because now I can eat themĀ anytime I want. So when I found this recipe to make my own, I was super excited. Cause you know, blue hearts are kind of my thing. I intended to make them rainbow too, but…that’s a LOT of sugar. So next time I’ll halve my batches and make all six colors! You can make these as party favors or cake decorations, or just eat them plain like I am.

These are super easy to make, I finished in probably half an hour. And they’re yummy too! Be sure and save a few for a recipe I’ll be posting in a few days.

DIY Sugar Candies

Adapted from Wedding Chicks

Ingredients:
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp egg white
1/4 tsp room temp water
Paste or powder food coloring in whatever shade you like

Preheat your oven to 200 F. Combine your ingredients in a small bowl and mix well with a rubber spatula, until the mixture is evenly distributed and looks like wet sand. If it’s too dry, add a tiny bit more water or egg white, but don’t overwet or it’ll dissolve and be impossible to cut. Spread the sugar mixture out on a piece of parchment paper to 1/4 inch thickness and cut with a tiny cookie or fondant cutter; if it’s the right consistency, it’ll cling to the cutter. Hold it over a silpat or parchment paper-lined pan and tap gently to release it.

Bake for 10 minutes (long enough to cook them slightly, not long enough that the sugar melts) and let cool before eating or packaging.

If you’re making more than one color, save the cutout leftovers and mix them on another parchment paper for a tie-dyed marbled look!

Comments on: "DIY sugar heart candies" (1)

  1. [...] 1 box cake mix 2 eggs 1/3 cup oil 1 1/4 cup water 1/4 cup all-purpose flour Sugar candies, about 12 for medium-sized pancakes or about 24 for small [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

