Learning to bake fearlessly <3


My friends (Kessie and Shi) and I are planning something daring and lovely and shiveringly terrifying. The thought came to us the other night and still sounded good in the morning (how all good plans are hatched)–we’re going to groupie the Devil’s Carnival road tour from Kansas aaaaall the way to Sacramento, and then go see another dear friend in LA! I’m so nervous I’m trembling a little, but at the same time I’m excited as hell, no pun intended. This is very possibly the coolest thing I’m going to do in my 20’s, and I can’t wait!

By the way, that carnival? Have you checked it out yet? Please tell me you have, because I have a feeling this is gonna be a Thing for me, and you’ll be hearing about it a lot in this blog. And you won’t want to miss this tour! The creators are taking it around the country and showing the movie and schmoozing with the fans. There’ll be shows and cosplaying and special guests from the film, the guys are absolute dolls, and the people who’ve seen it so far have given rave reviews. I haven’t seen it myself yet (ohmygosh 13 more days!), but the soundtrack is delicious, true earcandy and so lovely. I die over Trust Me and Beautiful Stranger every time.

How does this relate to baking, you ask? Easy. This dark chocolate brownie pudding is sinfully good. As one friend put it, “I feel like I’m going to hell for eating this.” And as TDC shows us, Hell is the place to be right now, so eat up, drink a cup of scorn with me, and fa la la, it’s off to decadent chocolate hell we go!

Dark chocolate brownie pudding

Adapted from Annie’s Eats

Ingredients
½ lb (2 sticks) unsalted butter
4 large eggs at room temperature
2 cups sugar
1 cup dark (dutch process) cocoa powder
½ cup all-purpose flour
2 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat your oven to 325 F and spray a 2-quart baking pan with nonstick cooking spray, or whatever method you like best. Melt your butter and set it aside to cool. Things I learned when making this: if your butter is overflowing your cup in the microwave, it will not, in fact, melt smoothly into said cup; it will make a nervous-making mess that I did not need to deal with when baking on a time constraint. So learn from my mistake and make sure your butter fits nicely into your melting receptacle.

In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream your eggs and sugar together on medium-high into a smooth, pale yellow liquid. Whisk your cocoa and flour together in a separate bowl; add those to the mixing bowl and mix on low speed until just combined. While the mixer’s still going, add your vanilla and butter, and mix further until just combined.

Pour the batter into your 2-quart pan, and then sit that pan in a larger pan. We’re going to need a water bath. Fill the larger pan up with hot tap water, about halfway up the side of the smaller pan. Bake for 60 minutes. The center will still be completely molten; that’s what we want. It’s somewhere between a large chocolate lava cake and a pan of brownie batter, and it’s soooooo good.

Note: I realized after the fact that, being flustered, I ended up putting in a full cup of cocoa instead of the 3/4 cup called for in the original recipe. I ended up loving how chocolatey it was and wouldn’t change it next time.

Leave a Reply

